Skip to content

Nulo Update: Time to get fit Noah!

October 3, 2010
Noah

"Noah" Digital Art by BZTAT

*Sigh*

Big ol’ Noah is stayin’ around 19 lbs. folks, despite the fact that we are all tryin’ to get him slimmer and more fit.

The Nulo food has made a difference in his fur, as it is softer and he seems to be groomin’ himself better. We are all nommin’ the schtuff like crazy, as we all are  lovin’ the flavor and are adjusted to the texture.

But Noah is not losin’ weight.

I have been readin’ the blogs of the other Nu Campaigners, and it does seem that the dogs are havin’ more success than the cats. You have no IDEA how hard it is fur me to admit THAT.

I have my suspicions as to why. I don’t think it is because of the food. I don’t think it has anything to do with the differences in species. I think it has more to do with the humans.

I think cat people are more lazy than dog people. Or at least they are more lazy when it comes to interactin’ with their pets.

Cat people often choose cats as pets cuz we are more independent and require less maintenance. Cat people tend to be busy and are happy to have pets that can take care of themselves.

We don’t hafta go run around outside and sniff all the other cats in the neighborhood’s pee. We don’t hafta go out fur walks. We don’t get all willy nilly excited and jump all over people. We don’t hafta be trained to act right.

Our strength can be our consequence, though.

Because we are self maintaining, our humans sometimes overlook the fact that some of us need help with exercising. Noah is one of those that needs help.

Noah stopped exercisin’ after he had a surgery at age 2 to remove a plastic bag he had nommed from his stomach. He seemed to slow down after that.

I remember, too, a time where he tried to jump up on a filing cabinet that Slick and I frequented. His jump failed, and he body slammed the filing cabinet. He never tried again after that.

Maine Coon cats are more pouncers than they are jumpers, but he didn’t seem to want to listen to my efforts to ease his humiliation. Noah quit tryin’ to do the schtuff that Slick and I could do with ease.

Anyways, I have decided to challenge both Noah and our human BZTAT to up their game. The Nu Campaign is about overall wellness and the diet is just one component of it.

It is time to get fit guys!

Check out my moves as Noah’s personal trainer:

Just Meowin’,

The Brew

Disclosure: Nulo has generously provided free product and other benefits in exchange for our participation in the Nu Campaign to fight pet obesity. We are happy to be a part of this awareness campaign, however, all of the opinions about the product are mine and not dictated in any way by the company.

Read the other Nu Campaign blogs:

Koa at Pawcurious

Phoebe and Oreo at Two Fat Dogs

Disco at Furry Dance Cats

Lyger and Tuhlula at Embrace Pet Community

Marbles at Marbles Weight Loss

Judy at Dogingham

Xena and Velvet at Average Jane

Romeo and Pugsley at Romeo the Cat

7 Comments
  1. October 3, 2010 1:08 pm

    Love those moves of yours. If ever I need a trainer, I’m gonna give you a meow. xoxo

  2. October 3, 2010 3:01 pm

    As a Large Boy myself (22.8#) my Mommy plays with me every day with a feather wand to keep me in “trim”. Or maybe “semi-trim”! ~~Johnny

  3. October 3, 2010 11:17 pm

    sigh…he and Disco must be very similar in the problem of ‘more calories in that used up’…my vet recomputed his caloric needs and he is starting to drop weight now…but I am bad about fitting in 3 ten minute exercise routines into his day, too!

  4. October 3, 2010 11:36 pm

    You are doing a good job at training, Brew. Not so sure that Noah is doing as well at learning!

    • October 4, 2010 1:33 pm

      He tries, Sparkle. He just wears out fast. I’ll get him in shape!

Trackbacks

  1. nulo | Nu Campaign Update - Week 9

Comments are closed.

